All posts by Chichester Chess Club

Successes for Chichester Juniors

Rahul Leo Thomas and Vishal Leo Thomas have been active on the tournament scene – with great success!

The Dupree tournament held on 4-5 April saw Rahul win the U12 section with a magnificent 6/6.

Vishal recorded a creditable 3/6 in the U14 section.

On 21 May at the Worthing Grand Prix Rahul also won the U11 Major with 4.5/6 while Vishal won prize money with 4/6 in the U18 (!!) category.

Well done to Rahul and Vishal, many congratulations.

Vinuda IOW Success!!

An outstanding third place for Vinuda in the Isle of Wight Congress in April.

Ahead of Vinuda were 1st  IM Harry Grieve 2515 and 2nd GM Keith Arkell 2435. 4th was WIM Natasha Reagan 2025.

Many congratulations to Vinuda, an excellent result in a strong field!

Box Tournament Latest

At this stage Mike Spence leads round 2 with a score of 90.5.  The overall tournament is now being led by Mike Webber on a score of 185.9. with myself second on 185.5 and Penny third on 175.2.  As you can see it is very close at the top of the leadership board and at this stage it is still mathematically possible for 11 players to win the tournament! 

Deadline of 10/6/24 for all games.

Round 6 Club Championship Draw

Andrew and Jaimie lead with 4½ from 5. Those on 4 are Bill McD, Vinuda and Mike Eason.

This round is scheduled to be played on 10th June.

CCC Championship Draw for Round 6

Bd No   White  [rating]      (Score) v (Score) Black  [rating]        

1            Bill McDougall [2115] (4) v (4½) Andrew McDougall [2155]

2          Jaimie Wilson [2169] (4½) v (4) Vinuda Gunatilake [1989] 

3                     Phil Carr [1658] (3½) v (4) Mike Eason [1577]  

4                         Ian Judd [1766] (3) v  (3½)  Jacob Carr [1358]

5   Vishal Leo Thomas [1375] (3) v (3) Norbert Gyorke [1877]    

6           Laurence Ellett [1697] (3) v (2½) Bill Emerson [1900*]     

7           Mike Webber [1608] (2½) v (3) Rahul Leo Thomas [1254]   

8                 Steve Coe [1675] (2½) v (2½) Steve Smith [1746]

9                  Kyall Guy [1465]  (2½) v (2½) Isaac McDonald [1398]                   

10    Ian Richardson [1561] (2½) v (2½) Mike Spence [1715] 

11                  Paul White 1610] (2) v (2) Alan Reed [1450]     

12              Mick Plumb [1735] (2) v (2) Lloyd Jolley 1435]               

13             Ryan Kinzett [1488] (2) v (2) Penny Callum [1060]     

 14      Chris Squires [1703] (1½) v (1)John Hargreaves [1595]

15          Paul Simpson [1357] (1) v (1) Francisco Booth [1235] 

16     Lucas Summers [1179] (1) v (1) Lara Osiyemi [1791]

Easter blitz Fun

24 players turned out for the Easter Blitz competition run by our Chairman, Steve Smith.

6 rounds were played at 3min+2 sec increment.

Everything came down to the last round, final results:

Winner: Bill McDougall 5.5/6

Runner Up: Laurence Ellett 5/6

Best Junior: Vinuda Gunatilake 5/6

Also an honorable mention to Vishal who scored 4/6

U1850, want to play for Hampshire?

The Hampshire County Team have entered a team in the U1850 ECF Counties Championship. Hampshire are scheduled to meet the winners of Yorkshire / Staffordshire in the quarter finals the weekend of 11th May 2024 (details to be confirmed). Eligibility for Hampshire players is being rated under 1850 on the September 2023 rating list.

If you wish to be considered for selection, please contact the Match Captain Ashraf Syed from the HCA Contact Page Contact Us – Hampshire Chess Association. It is likely the matches will be played in a central location, to ensure equal travel distance for the counties.